Help! is this website a phony??? - Ministry Of Burlesque
Ministry Of Burlesque

Home Forums Academy Events Castings Albums Videos
Go Back   Ministry Of Burlesque > Burlesque Forums > Burlesque Chat

Burlesque Who's Who A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Important Notice(s)

MoB Quick Links
Need Help With MoB? Ask Lord Dashwood!Got A Frequently Asked Question? FAQ You!Learn Burlesque Performance From Qualified Teachers. Call 0845 177 0101

Reply
Views: 281
Replies: 11  
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-31-2008, 02:15 PM
Violette Haze's Avatar
pirouetting on a penny

Junior Member
Location: Cambridge
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 20
MoB Credits: 14.94
Friends: (13)
Default Help! is this website a phony???

I recently ordered some fans from a website called ostrich.com - Ostriches On Line - Ostrich Meat, Feather Dusters & Boas Fans Pictures, Ostrich Leather & Oil Products - Ostriches On Line ostrich.com. I recieved an e-mail from them asking me to print off the e-mail, fill in the info (including my signature!) and scan it to send back to them. Iv'e noticed that my money has already been taken from them so, why do they need me to sign?

Is there any other trusted sites that I could use to get my fans from?

A rather worried Violette x
__________________
Sexy is not a size!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-31-2008, 02:17 PM
Violet Ecstasy's Avatar
is excited

Senior Member
Location: West Midlands
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 819
MoB Credits: 103.52
Friends: (40)
Default

afaik ostrich.com are a well known site, I haven't ordered from them myself though.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-31-2008, 02:19 PM
Queen Bea's Avatar
is relatively unscathed.

Senior Member
Location: Edinburgh
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 220
MoB Credits: 34.05
Friends: (32)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Violette Haze View Post
I recently ordered some fans from a website called ostrich.com - Ostriches On Line - Ostrich Meat, Feather Dusters & Boas Fans Pictures, Ostrich Leather & Oil Products - Ostriches On Line ostrich.com. I recieved an e-mail from them asking me to print off the e-mail, fill in the info (including my signature!) and scan it to send back to them. Iv'e noticed that my money has already been taken from them so, why do they need me to sign?

Is there any other trusted sites that I could use to get my fans from?

A rather worried Violette x

Hi Violette,

I haven't ordered from ostrich.com so don't know about their procedures, but I know loads of people who have so I don't think you have to worry about the legitimacy of the site!
__________________
Release your inner vixen with www.queenbea.co.uk!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-31-2008, 02:27 PM
Violette Haze's Avatar
pirouetting on a penny

Junior Member
Location: Cambridge
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 20
MoB Credits: 14.94
Friends: (13)
Default

Hiya,

thank you for the feedback! ^_^

Ive e-mailed them so, i guess ive got a beautiful pair of fans on the way!

Violette
__________________
Sexy is not a size!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-31-2008, 08:22 PM
Dolly Royale's Avatar
Wants to dance!!!

Senior Member
Location: Manchester
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 355
MoB Credits: 53.71
Friends: (27)
Send a message via Yahoo to Dolly Royale
Default

Yea, despite being a pants website they are renound for beautiful fan making! Can we see a picture when they arrive?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-01-2008, 02:40 PM
Violette Haze's Avatar
pirouetting on a penny

Junior Member
Location: Cambridge
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 20
MoB Credits: 14.94
Friends: (13)
Default

yes of course! Im eagerly awaiting as we speak. :-)
__________________
Sexy is not a size!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11-01-2008, 03:38 PM
katiewhite's Avatar
is mulling his or her status!

Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
MoB Credits: 1.68
Friends: (0)
Default

I've ordered two pairs from there (I do occasional work as a stylist, I can't dance fo toffee!) and yeah the ordering procedure is crazy, but they totally are legit and they were great
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11-02-2008, 04:07 PM
ladivina's Avatar
making pasties

Senior Member
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 130
MoB Credits: 14.90
Friends: (6)
Send a message via Yahoo to ladivina
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Violette Haze View Post
I recently ordered some fans from a website called ostrich.com - Ostriches On Line - Ostrich Meat, Feather Dusters & Boas Fans Pictures, Ostrich Leather & Oil Products - Ostriches On Line ostrich.com. I recieved an e-mail from them asking me to print off the e-mail, fill in the info (including my signature!) and scan it to send back to them. Iv'e noticed that my money has already been taken from them so, why do they need me to sign?

Is there any other trusted sites that I could use to get my fans from?

A rather worried Violette x
That is to insure that there is no ID theft, fraudulent use of credit card or something of that sort. I've had to do the same thing too. Ostrich.com has great products and is very reputable. I do know for a fact that Michelle Lamour and Immodesty Blaize (and maybe Dita) gets all of their ostrich products from Ostrich.com.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11-06-2008, 11:32 PM
tempest devyne's Avatar
is taking geekiness to the next level

Maid to Measure
Location: A little world of her own....left of Telford
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,741
MoB Credits: 349.51
Friends: (387)
Default

Someone asked about this not too long ago (or perhaps it was and time just flies when you're having fun)

But I know Ava Garter posted on that thread her assurances that she uses them and hadn't experienced any problems

I want to see pics too!
__________________
Life's too short to not live life large - do it! Doooooo iiittttt!
Tempest Devyne's myspace
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 11-07-2008, 06:14 PM
Fleur du Mal's Avatar
The voluptuous vexing femme fatale

***** Addict
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3,759
MoB Credits: 228.96
Friends: (37)
Default

I use ostrich.com. I've never had to go through any crazy procedures though, so I'm confused. But their budget fans served me well for a year (I'm still selling them, if anyone's interested!) and I've bought two sets of staves from them for some fixed fans I've made myself (new pair will be revealed soon, once I've worked out the kinks in design ...). The staves are very good quality and practically indestructible! They give you a stability you don't get with bamboo or wooden, but you lose some flexibility. The feathers are reputedly good quality, but I had the budget feathers so they were admittedly lower quality - still looked good on stage though, and fine for a starter. Thier customer service is a bit hit and miss, but generally they're helpful and most definitely legit.
__________________
Terry Pratchett to Fleur - "Oh, are you the cleavage lady?"
Visit me - www.badflower.co.uk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0 RC7